In 2004 AWCI formed a task force which consisted of major watchmaking brands, horological educators and professional watchmakers and clockmakers. This task force redesigned and redeveloped the certification program to meet the needs of the 21st century consumer. 

AWCI members who were previously certified were given the option to upgrade their certification to the new 21st Century designations.

Many of our members still hold our legacy certifications. They are:

  • CW

    Certified Watchmaker

  • CMW

    Certified Master Watchmaker

  • CMEW

    Certified Master Electronic Watchmaker

  • CEWT

    Certified Electronic Watch Technician

  • CC

    Certified Clockmaker

  • CMC

    Certified Master Clockmaker